CONSTRUCTION SUPERVISOR LICENSE
INFORMATION FOR BUILDERS & REMODELERS
The Massachusetts Office of Public Safety and Inspections requires that builders obtain their Construction Supervisor License (CSL) from a certified provider in order for them to obtain building permits from local building departments. Preparation courses are offered and a test is required to obtain the CSL. Licenses are to be renewed every two years with proof of the required continuing education credits (CEU's).
There are many independent Construction Supervisor License preparation Course providers in Massachusetts. You can find the application and more information from Mass.gov website. The Commonwealth provides this list of CSL coordinators and access to their websites.
BRAGB, your other state local chapter and the Home Builders and Remodelers Association of Massachusetts also provide CSL education. You can search for educational events here.
A Construction Supervisors License (CSL) is required by building departments before they will issue a permit. A person holding a license is required to be on the job. Get in compliance. Pursue licensure for yourself and your employees and be that much more marketable in today's competitive business climate.
TYPES OF LICENSES
Restricted License: Valid for work on 1 & 2 Family Dwellings Only.
Unrestricted License: Valid for work on any building, up to 35,000 cubic feet of space.
Students are expected to have experience in construction and with the Massachusetts Building Code. Homework is assigned each week and reviewed the following week. All students are required to bring the Building Code Book(s) and other reference codes to class. Books may be ordered when signing up for the course and will be handed out the first night class meets.
Individuals are registered on a first-come, first-served basis. Due to the popularity of this course, we cannot reserve space without receipt of full payment. Online registration and credit card payment will secure your place, while space is available.
$50 processing fee for cancellations, up until 10 days before the start date, after which cancellations cannot be accepted and no refunds will be made. No exceptions.
Note: Students who complete the course and have met attendance and homework requirements have the option to take the next course over, within six months, at no cost if they do not pass the exam, provided space is available. Must notify our office of exam results and desire to repeat the class within six months of class completion.